Yet more oatmeal

2016-02-24 21.27.20.jpg

Banana bread oatmeal this time.  It’s exactly the same as Apple Pie Oatmeal except I’m replacing the apples with finely chopped bananas.  I will try it with mashed bananas in future experiments but my nanners are too fresh for good mashing and I don’t have time to freeze them (for those who didn’t know, if you need mashed bananas it’s great to freeze them first then thaw them.  The ice crystals formed when freezing slice up the connective stuff in the bananas and make them way more mashable).  The recipe is the same because really, the recipies for apple pie filling (at least the one I grew up with) and banana bread use the same tasty ingredients.  The apple pie oatmeal went over extremely well with the menfolk this morning so I thought I’d try to keep the streak going tomorrow. (Edit to add: I finished cooking it and tried it and my streak will remain intact.  It is heavenly)

After breakfast is done I’ll be putting a loaf of bread to bake in my bread machine.  I’ve found this recipe Best Bread Machine Recipe and it works wonderfully.  I’ve always had issues getting bread to rise in my machine.  Followed this recipe and this happens now…

2016-02-15 23.08.58

That’s my bread after rising so much it hit the cover of the machine.  This recipe is also delicious and is indeed easy.  Had it memorized after just a few times making it.  If I’ve figured it correctly, this loaf costs me about a quarter using bulk purchased flour and yeast.

 

Share your Knotty Thoughts

