Oh Crap Mom Moments

Yeah.  Had one of those this morning.  One of those moments in time where you look at what’s happening and think,”I think I may have made a slight error in judgement.”  We live in a place that’s almost, slightly, attempting to look like spring may happen sometime before mid-May.  It’s been quite warmish, above freezing anyway, and the mountains of snow have started melting into dirty, messy, piles of slush everywhere.  Unfortunately, due to the tentative nature of our pre-spring weather, it refreezes every night which makes the morning sidewalks into either skating rinks or fake skating rinks (that are really freaking freezing cold puddles for you so fall into once you slip on the rink looking sheet on top).

Anyhow, I was walking The Boy to school this morning and we were doing our best to avoid the ice as best we could.  Or I was anyway.  Not a fan of walking around with frozen wet pants or pain.  The Boy found the slippy ice to be quite fun and was running around like a goofus and sliding all over the place while completely ignoring my every warning to be careful .  About halfway there he took a step onto a particularly slippery patch of ice and thus began the most incredible, awesome, windmilling, feet flailing, forward, backward, wobbling, weaving fall on his arse I think I’ve ever seen.  It took a full fifteen seconds or so but I can see it in my head as though it was in slow motion.  It was brilliant!  Outstanding!  As he looked at me stunned from flat on his back on the ground and I finished my preliminary examination to determine how badly he’d broken himself and saw he was fine…I burst into laughter.  It was funny as hell.  After blinking at me and my laughing a few times he joined in and hopped up in a delightful Mommy/Son happy moment.

And then we continued walking.  It didn’t take long for me to realize the error I had failed to foresee.  I can just see the conversation in his precious yet demented little brain.  “I made mummy happy by slipping on the ice and falling down!!  Let’s do it again!!!” and again, and again, and again…Shit.  Nothing I could say would convince him it wasn’t funny anymore and he didn’t quit until we ran out of ice at the door of the daycare.  Sigh.  Thankfully, he appears to have forgotten after a full day of daycare antics and we had a fall-free walk home.  I’m such a dumbass but one that’s grateful for a boy that is willing to go really far just to make someone else happy.

As for recipes, I found one tonight that worked out beautifully for Teriyaki sauce.  Halfway through cooking a stir-fry for dinner I was dismayed to find we had only a tiny smidge left in the bottle of my favorite stir-fry flavor.  I hit the keys and searched for homemade teriyaki sauce and found this recipe…Restaurant Teriyaki Sauce.  It is incredibly simple but turned out incredibly good.  I compared it side-by-side to the smidge left in the storebought bottle and it was even tastier and had way less crap in it.  Looks like normal.

2016-03-09 16.50.55.jpg

Share your Knotty Thoughts

