Books, Boiled Cookies and My Boy

Today is The Boy’s last day at daycare.  He’s pretty excited to get to stay at home with mommy.  For today I am enjoying my last day alone.  Hubster is sleeping from a month of night shifts.  I have already headed to the library and thrown a few rows into an e-cig pouch and lanyard I’m making for my sister.  Trying out the dough setting on my bread maker cause I need hamburger buns for dinner tonight.  Thinking I’ll halve the usual giant loaf of bread and make it into one loaf and some buns.  Will have to wait and see if it turns out.

As a gift for the caregivers at daycare I made some cookies.  Had to call after Boy was dropped off cause I hadn’t made them for the kids, just the teachers, so hadn’t made enough for everyone.  I hope they enjoy them.  They are a favorite of mine and really easy to make…

Mom D’s No-Bake Boiled Chocolate Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats

Melt butter in medium saucepan over medium heat, add milk, sugar and cocoa and turn up to high.  Boil for five minutes stirring constantly.

Remove from heat, stir in oats.  Drop teaspoonsfull onto greased cookie sheet or wax paper.

These pictures are of a double batch and I like to make them large.

They are that simple and delicious.  I get asked for them all the time.  Also kept a few back for my friendly neighborhood grocery store lady/cousin-in-law who scored me some loverly big beef bones to make broth with.  I’ll blog about  that another day but for now the best meats, groceries and customer service in Winnipeg can be found at Fresh to the Bone

It’s a beautiful day outside.  First day of the year I’ve got the heat turned off and have thrown my windows wide open.  These windows are half the reason I begged so hard to convince Hubster we had to buy this 100-year-old house.  The airflow in here is glorious. This is a wonderful time, this first airing out after winter, and feels like throwing off a snowbank worth of stuffy indoor miasma (I keep the house clean so it’s more of an emotional miasma than a literal one) and blowing it away in the fresh, cool airflow of early spring.  Best time to do it because in a month the snow will have melted (I hope) and the winter sand will be blowing around like we live in the middle of the Sahara till they sweep it all up.

I grabbed a few books at the library.  It’s autobiography day.  I’ll be starting with Undisputed: How to Become the World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps
by Chris Jericho, Peter T. Fornatale.  I’m looking forward to reading it.  I am totally in love with Chris Jericho and adore the fact that he’s from here.  He went to school with my aunt.  He’s also funny as hell.  I watched the wrestling half to watch what he’d do that week and listen to his podcast cause he makes me laugh.  I’ll let you know how it was.

Share your Knotty Thoughts

