Good Bye Summer

It’s Autumn.  I adore the cooler weather.  The beautiful colours.  The lack of biting insects.  It’s the best time of year to be home with my little dude.  Or out with him.  We went to the park today.  It’s cloudy and a bit blustery but we dressed for it.  I’m a knitter and crocheter.  We are not lacking in scarves, hats and mittens.  Or we won’t be once I get finished making this year’s crop of them.  Lately, I’ve been addicted to making a particular shawl.  Called a Virus Shawl, it’s a quick and pretty easy pattern once you get the hang of it.  It’s easy to find if you google it and there’s a pretty straightforward video tutorial.  There’s some small amount of controversy over whose free pattern it is so for this one you’re just going to have to google it for yourselves.  It works up like this…

2016-08-18-18-26-13

And here’s one of a most beautiful lady modelling a gorgeous one I made…

2016-09-19-13-33-05

They are both made with Red Heart Unforgettable yarn.  I’m making a third with colourway Parrot.  It’s glorious.

I also managed to whip up a throw blanket in just under a month.  Yay me!!  It was a wedding shower gift for a dear cousin.  I’m so glad she liked it.

2016-09-16-12-52-50

This is it half done.  I really love the way it turned out.  The pattern was Easy Ripple Afghan which is another favourite of mine.  I like it because it’s an easy repeat and doesn’t have the holes you so often find in a crochet chevron blanket.  I have some of the yarn left and have matching plans for it but I’m not going to get into it in case my cousin reads this.

Now that it’s cooling off and the Boy and I aren’t so new at this whole “at home all the time with mom” thing, I should have more time to blog again.  Also, with the cooler weather I’ve pulled out my stock pot and will be searching out and trying new recipes for soups and stews to help keep our bellies nutritionally, yet frugally, full.  I already have a delightful pork stock that has squash soup written all over it.

Catch y’all later.

 

Share your Knotty Thoughts

